Maharashtra government schools to reopen for new session on June 17

Picture used for representational purpose onlyPicture used for representational purpose only
PUNE: The state education department recently declared that all government schools in Maharashtra and the Vidarbha region will reopen for the new academic year on June 17 and 26, respectively.

As many as 76 holidays for festivals and national holidays and 230 working days have been granted to primary, secondary and higher secondary schools this year. “May 1 will be observed as a holiday to mark Maharashtra Day by all schools. The schedule for other holidays throughout the academic year will be prepared by the schools,” stated a notification by the director of secondary education, Gangadhar Mhamane, to all education officials.
“Local holidays that vary in different regions must be declared by the schools within the allotted days for the same,” the notification stated.
The notification added that vacations for Diwali would begin from October 21 this year. “The schools have been asked to reduce the long vacations for summer breaks or Diwali and use them for holidays during Ganesh Chaturthi or Christmas,” Mhamane said.

Schools in Vidarbha begin late as the summer season extends till June in that part of Maharashtra. “The education officers in the Vidarbha’s districts have been asked to prepare an ideal schedule with 230 working days,” Mhamane said.

The education officers have been told to meet local leaders and teachers’ associations to discuss the holiday schedule. The academic year has been scheduled between June 2019 and May-end next year.


Author: Ayaan